Living Together as a Married Couple


Post #4 Living Together

My husband and I decided to rent an apartment and we picked it out together.  Oh how I loved moving out of my house and into my new place.  My First place away from home was exactly the way I wanted it to be.  In 1992 the rent for a two bedroom, two bathroom was only 600.00 a month.  Between two working adults, this was easy to afford.  I remember unpacking all of my belongings from my old house and working full time.  I did not know anyone in this new town which was over an hour away from where I had lived.

When I arrived home after work the first week, my husband had his best friend over and they decided to unpack “for me.”  The very next day I recalled that I was missing something very important to me.  What?  It was a handmade baby blanket that I treasured and had since I was a child.  I have photos with me and the baby blanket a relative made for me.  With that said, I guess that should have been a big “red Flag.”  I was so in love that after I argued with him about my baby blanket, I quickly forgave him and his friend.  I was very hurt and just ignored how I was feeling Looking back at this one important item of mine and the whole incident, I see that I was ignoring me, my feelings, and my possessions (what was important to me).

With that said, he became a truck driver and I became a wife and house keeper.  We both shared the domestic duties of the apartment.  He did a lot of the cooking and I did a lot of the laundry and cleaning.  I met a couple of his friends and we went out “drinking” a lot on the weekends.  So my new life was surrounded by him and his friends.  I did not know anyone in the apartment building, I was in a new town for the first time, and worked and did what he wanted.  I didn’t really know any better.  I was so excited to be married, and devote myself to this wonderful man.  If he and I were not working, we were together either at his friend’s house, or at home watching television, or just being together as a couple.  We did everything together (as I thought a couple should do).

To be continued….

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Hey Jackie, I’m so happy for you, dear.

    Keep on basking and glowing in your marriage. I’m happy that you’re happy about your new apartment.

    All the best, my friend.

    Reply

We love your Comments

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 22 other followers

  • Jackie Paulson - Find me on Bloggers.com
  • Categories

  • Entertainment Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • 2012 Reading Challenge

    2012 Reading Challenge
    Jackie has read 90 books toward her goal of 100 books.
    hide
